Rad Reading-March

In March, I read the book Allies by Alan Gratz. Allies is a realistic fiction book about a sixteen year old German boy named Dee. Dee hates the Nazis for what they did to the jewish people. Dee and his family moved to the US when he was five years old. Dee, is not his real name, Dee was short for Douglas Carpenter but that wasn’t his real name either, it was Dietrich Zimmermann. Dee lived in Philadelphia and at age 16, Dee and his friend Sid lied about their age and enlisted in the Army. In 1944, Dee and Sid landed on Omaha Beach during D-day and fought the Germans in a chaotic battle.

I really enjoyed the book, as the characters all seemed real. Dee and Sid had a special bond and went through a lot of struggles together during the war. Alan Gratz did a great job describing the horrible and chaotic D-Day invasion. Alan Gratz description of D-Day made me feel like if i was there with Dee and Sid fighting the Germans.

Dee is my favorite character because when he was shot during combat he never quit fighting. As a 16 year old boy Dee was very brave because he wanted to serve his country and fight for what he believed was right. An example of Dee’s bravery is when he was shot and was taken to the hospital and the doctors told him he would not be able to continue to fight, Dee told himself “he had to keep fighting, he had to make up for what his former countrymen were doing to the world.”

My favorite quote in this book is on Pg#299 “Can I get back to fighting soon.” Dee asked the medic. I like this quote because even though Dee is injured and in the hospital his mindset is to continue to fight for what is right. I also like this quote because it is an example of bravery and selflessness. When I have a bad day in baseball, I tell myself “to get back in the fight.”

One thought on “Rad Reading-March

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *